FF – Fotographical Friday: “Me, my kid, and Ed Emberley” Monster Week: How-to

  
Ed Emberley’s how-to books were created so that any kid could draw. Using non-verbal, step-by-step instructions, kids could build their drawings with simple shapes and marks. 

A lot of adults I know have fond memories of pouring over these books as kids, learning to draw. I don’t. I had actually never heard of these until I was an adult and started my obsessive collection of cartooning books, which includes how-to. And it was my kid who pulled it off the shelf (as he does with many of my books) and had us both draw at the same time. 

  

Leave a Reply

