Kovaleski and Son

For grad school, I’ve been doing some drawing with my 9-month-old son. Last semester, right after he was born, I did drawings of him almost every day in a sketchbook. This semester I started doing that again but it wasn’t working out. Truthfully, he just moves too much. So I started having him scribble on the page (I hold on to the pencil just in case) then I’d make it into something. (See below.) This has gone on for a few weeks but it’s tough to find a figurative element in the scrawlings, so I’ve started to add to it in a pure mark making way, much like my son is doing anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

