What I’m reading – Midnighter

Remember a few weeks ago when I drowned the sorrow of my wife and son going to Florida without me by going on a comics-related shopping spree? Well, one of the establishments I went to was Comix Connection in Mechanicsburg, PA. As a matter of fact, I spent a good hour crouching on their floor going throughout the “2 for 99¢” boxes. Why you ask? Because my bad back isn’t painful enough, and because I’m cheap.

I bought 20 comics and, although I haven’t read all of them yet, most were pretty bad. I don’t mean they weren’t my cup of tea. I mean they were wordily over-written, or the art was confusing and hard to follow, or both.

Surprisingly, the handful of issues of “Midnighter” I picked up were great. Well-paced stories, oft times told in a single issue (which is quite the novelty and not easy to do). I had read some random issues of “The Authority” featuring him. Picture Batman if he had some powers and killed people… and is lovers with Superman. Yep, you heard right…but that isn’t the focus. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

