How I spent my summer vacation – Spring break ’06 edition

Here’s some pics I dug up. During Spring Break of 2006 my wife and I were chaperons for our college’s choir on their trip to Nicaragua. We stayed with host families in Leon and traveled to outlying areas in a school bus.

We went to a school to sing (well, I wasn’t singing – I was going to be videotaping) but we were early. We were causing quite a stir – kids were just staring out the windows of their open-air class rooms at the giant white people strolling around, so classes were postponed. To pass the time we did things with the kids. Some students played Frisbee with them. Some took their picture on digital cameras. I pulled out a pad of paper and started to draw for a couple of kids and then…I…was…mobbed. I must have drawn a couple hundred Bos in 45 minutes.

Funny thing is I had a vision of doing something like this before we even left – except I was standing. I was happy to be sitting. That was a lot of work.

2 Responses to “How I spent my summer vacation – Spring break ’06 edition”

  1. Katie Hart Says:

    That was one of my favorite trips that I have ever been on. I totally remember you being mobbed too! A couple of us just stood on the sideline and watched you surrounded by kids about 8 deep. Quite a picture. Now there is an entire village of kids in Nicaragua with Bo hanging on their bedroom walls. :)

  2. KOVALESKI Says:

    I don’t think they had any idea that he was a monkey. I kept trying to say monkey in Spanish but the kids just looked at me funny.

Leave a Reply

